Jump to contentJump to search

Core competencies for postdoctoral fellows and young scientists

An academic career can have very diverse goals, which can be pursued individually depending on one's interests. To obtain a university professorship, both a strong interest in research and a passion for teaching are prerequisites for achieving this career goal. In addition to the professional requirements, the young scientists should also have additional key qualifications that support their everyday research work.

The Faculty attaches particular importance to the continuous training of young scientists and the qualified supervision of doctoral candidates. Applicants for admission to habilitation must provide evidence of at least four continuing education courses on core competencies for young scientists and university teachers. Participation in further training to ensure good scientific practice is mandatory.

The continuing education required by the new habilitation regulations should be provided from the following qualification areas:

  • Career development through research funding, third-party funding acquisition
  • Leadership, leadership style, leadership personality, leadership responsibility
  • Team leadership, team composition, team moderation, team motivation
  • Science management
  • Human resources management
  • Supervision of theses
  • Project and time management
  • Communication
  • Conflict management
  • Presentation and public relations

In cooperation with the Heine Research Academies/JUNO, the medRSD offers a variety of workshops and continuing education events that support young scientists professionalizing the management of their daily research routine and preparing for (future) leadership tasks in science. In addition, young scientists at HHU can network with other post-doctoral fellows and address questions and problems of everyday scientific life on an equal footing.

Participants in the SelmaMeyerMentoring Program for advanced postdoctoral and habilitation students at HHU (lines SelmaMeyerMED+, PROF, PROF-MED) are credited with the workshops attended in the program towards the required core competencies for young scientists. In addition to successful participation in the mentoring program, they only have to provide evidence of further training in good scientific practice.

Courses from other providers will be credited if they
a) can be assigned to the qualification areas described above and
b) these courses are designed for young scientists* with a doctorate.

The Junior Scientist and International Researcher Center (JUNO) organizes on behalf of the Graduate Center Medicine the events on good scientific practice for post-doctoral fellows and candidates for an adjunct professorship. Only the GSP (Good scientific practice) trainings of the JUNO or in type and scope equivalent events of other sites will be considered for the application. The trainings of iGRAD or the trainings for medical doctoral candidates of medRSD are not designed for the above mentioned target group and are therefore unsuitable.

Good Scientific Practice (Course language: English)

Young scientists are confronted with various tasks and responsibilities when guiding students, supervising PhD students, and performing their own research tasks in parallel. This seminar focuses on several points of interest to be addressed under these circumstances, e.g. concerning documentation, ethical considerations and intellectual property.

Responsible for the content:

Zum Inhalt springenZur Suche springen

Kernkompetenzen für Habilitand*innen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen

Eine akademische Karriere kann sehr vielfältige Ziele haben, die je nach Interesse individuell angestrebt werden können. Für die Erlangung einer Universitätsprofessur sind sowohl großes Forschungsinteresse als auch eine Leidenschaft für die Lehre Voraussetzungen, um dieses Karriereziel zu erreichen. Neben den fachlichen Voraussetzungen sollen die Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen auch über zusätzliche Schlüsselqualifikationen verfügen, die ihren Forschungsalltag unterstützen.

Die Fakultät misst dabei der kontinuierlichen Weiterbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und einer qualifizierten Betreuung von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden besondere Bedeutung zu. Antragsteller*innen zur Zulassung zur Habilitation müssen mindestens vier Weiterbildungen zu Kernkompetenzen für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen und Hochschullehrer*innen nachweisen. Die Teilnahme an einer Fortbildung zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis ist verpflichtend.

Die in der neuen Habilitationsordnung geforderten Weiterbildungen sollen aus folgenden Qualifizierungsbereichen erbracht werden:

  • Karriereentwicklung durch Forschungsförderung, Drittmitteleinwerbung
  • Führung, Führungsstil, Führungspersönlichkeit, Führungsverantwortung
  • Führung im Team, Teamzusammenstellung, Teammoderation, -motivation
  • Wissenschaftsmanagement
  • Personalmanagement
  • Betreuung von Abschlussarbeiten
  • Projekt- und Zeitmanagement
  • Kommunikation
  • Konfliktmanagement
  • Präsentation und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Die medRSD bietet in Kooperation mit den Heine Research Academies/JUNO eine Vielzahl von Workshops- und Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen an, die Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen unterstützen, das Management ihres Forschungsalltags zu professionalisieren und sich auf (zukünftige) Führungsaufgaben in der Wissenschaft vorzubereiten. Darüber hinaus können sich die Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen der HHU mit anderen promovierten Wissenschaftler*innen vernetzen und Fragestellungen und Probleme des Wissenschaftsalltags auf Augenhöhe adressieren.

Teilnehmerinnen des SelmaMeyerMentoring‐Programms für fortgeschrittene Postdoktorandinnen und Habilitandinnen der HHU (Linien SelmaMeyerMED+, PROF, PROF‐MED) werden die im Programm besuchten Workshops auf die geforderten Kernkompetenzen für Nachwuchswissenschaftler angerechnet. Sie müssen neben der erfolgreichen Teilnahme an dem Mentoring-Programm nur noch die Fortbildung zur guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis nachweisen.

Kurse anderer Anbieter werden angerechnet, wenn diese
a) den oben beschriebenen Qualifizierungsbereichen zugeordnet werden können und
b) diese Veranstaltungen für promovierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen konzipiert sind.

Das Junior Scientist and International Researcher Center (JUNO) http://www.juno.hhu.de/ organisiert im Auftrag des Graduiertenzentrums Medizin die Veranstaltungen zur guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis für die Habilitanden und Habilitandinnen sowie für die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten für eine Apl.-Professur. Bei der Antragstellung werden nur die GWP-Schulungen der JUNO oder in Art und Umfang äquivalente Veranstaltungen anderer Standorte berücksichtigt. Die Schulungen der iGRAD bzw. die Schulungen für Medizindoktoranden der medRSD sind nicht für die o.g. Zielgruppe konzipiert und daher ungeeignet.

Gute wissenschaftliche Praxis für Nachwuchswissenschaftler

Die Einhaltung der Regeln guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis ist eine elementare, wenn nicht die wichtigste Grundlage, um Forschung durchzuführen. Für Betreuende ergeben sich zu diesem Thema viele Berührungspunkte, z.B. zu den Themen: Dokumentation, kritische Betrachtung der eigenen Arbeit und Plagiat, Umgang mit wiss. Fehlverhalten. Die Fortbildung ist eine Pflichtveranstaltung für Habilitierende.

Good Scientific Practice (Kurssprache: Englisch)

Young researchers come across several tasks and responsibilites when instructing students, supervising doctoral candidates and in parallel carry out their own research tasks. This seminar focuses on several points of interest to be addressed under these circumstances, e.g. concerning documentation, ethical considerations and interlectual property.

Verantwortlichkeit: