Jump to contentJump to search

Collaborative Research Centres in Cooperation

Collaborative Research Centres with participation of medical institutions

Expired Collaborative Research Centres (chronological)

CRC 991 investigated the structure of representations in language, cognition and science. Linguistic and philosophical research was combined with empirical studies from neuroscience and psychology.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Laura Kallmeyer, HHU
Duration: from 2011 to 2020

Website of the CRC 991

Liver diseases are often chronic and systemically relevant, as they can affect the function of other organ systems (e.g. kidney, brain, intestine, cardiovascular system, blood, endocrine system, immune system). Conversely, other organ systems also influence liver function.

Such system influences not only affect the extent and course of liver damage, but also the regeneration processes in the liver that are simultaneously triggered with each liver damage. The remarkable ability of the liver to regenerate serves to maintain vital liver functions and occurs not only after partial hepatectomy, but also in response to the most diverse forms of liver damage.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Dieter Häussinger, HHU
Duration: 2012 to 2019

The central question of all subprojects of the CRC 590 was to analyse and understand those processes that lead to the formation of the different characteristics of cells, such as skin, nerve or muscle cells. The common goal of all projects was to gain a better insight into the diverse genetic, molecular and cellular bases of the formation of cell type-specific characteristics.

These processes for the formation of different cell characteristics take place during the development of multicellular organisms, whereby the information about the temporal and spatial sequence is stored in the genetic material of the cells (inherent processes). However, the fully formed (differentiated) cell is also able to react to changed environmental conditions (e.g. light) or to react after injury or attack by parasites in such a way that it can survive (adaptive processes).

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Peter Westhoff
Institute of Developmental and Molecular Biology of Plants
Duration: 2001 to 2012

Cardiovascular diseases are the result of a complex interaction between genetic susceptibility and a variety of environmental factors. They are generally characterised as multifactorial polygenetic disease patterns and still represent the main cause of death in western industrialised countries.

The common goal of all the subprojects brought together in CRC 612 was to investigate and influence molecular regulatory circuits that are the basis for normal and pathologically altered myocardial and vascular function and contribute to or significantly determine the expression of a specific cardiovascular phenotype.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. med. J. Schrader,
Institute for Cardiovascular Physiology
Duration: 2002 to 2012

Ageing is one of the least understood phenomena in human biology. It is generally accepted that ageing results from the sum of various mechanisms that limit the lifespan of biological systems (cells, organs, organisms) and which are only partially known. Therefore, causal concepts to control the medical problems of old age are lacking. By elucidating ageing mechanisms at the molecular level, CRC 728 has contributed to solving this problem.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Jean Krutmann,
IUF Leibniz Institute for Environmental Medicine Research
Duration: 2007 to 2012

The common goal of all subprojects involved in CRC 575 was to use basic scientific methods to gain new insights into the function of the normal liver and to investigate the molecular mechanisms that lead to clinically relevant disorders in the wake of liver damage. The knowledge gained should provide a basis for the development of new therapeutic strategies for liver diseases.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Dieter Häussinger,
Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Infectology
Duration: 2001 to 2011

The Collaborative Research Centre (CRC) 663 of the German Research Foundation "Molecular Response after Electronic Excitation" was a research network of the HHU Düsseldorf, the Max Planck Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry in Mülheim and the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research in Mülheim. CRC 663 began its work in July 2005. The spokesperson was Prof. Dr. Christel M. Marian (Institute for Theoretical Chemistry and Computational Chemistry at HHU).

The research activities focus on photo-induced processes in complex systems. The primary goal is to understand the intra- and intermolecular interactions that occur on a microscopic level as a result of exposure to photons and, above all, to identify the electronic intermediate states and reaction pathways of the molecules involved: for the far-reaching benefit of developments in biochemistry, materials science and medicine, for example in the development of photostable dyes or endogenous sun protection.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Christel M. Marian,
Institute for Theoretical Chemistry and Computational Chemistry
Duration: 2005 to 2010

Responsible for the content:

Zum Inhalt springenZur Suche springen

Sonderforschungsbereiche in Kooperation

Sonderforschungsbereich mit Beteiligung medizinischer Einrichtungen

Ausgelaufene Sonderforschungsbereiche (chronologisch)

Der SFB 991 untersuchte die Struktur von Repräsentationen in Sprache, Kognition und Wissenschaft. Sprachwissenschaftliche und philosophische Forschung wurden mit empirischen Untersuchungen aus Neurowissenschaften und Psychologie vereint. 

Sprecherin: Prof. Dr. Laura Kallmeyer, HHU
Laufzeit: von 2011 bis 2020

Website des SFB 991

Lebererkrankungen sind häufig chronisch und systemrelevant, da sie die Funktion anderer Organsysteme (z.B. Niere, Gehirn, Darm, Herz-Kreislauf-System, Blut, Hormonsystem, Immunsystem) beeinträchtigen können. Umgekehrt beeinflussen auch andere Organsysteme die Leberfunktion.

Solche Systemeinflüsse betreffen nicht nur das Ausmaß und den Verlauf der Leberschädigung, sondern auch die bei jeder Leberschädigung gleichzeitig angestoßenen Regenerationsprozesse in der Leber. Die bemerkenswerte Fähigkeit der Leber sich zu regenerieren, dient dazu, lebenswichtige Leberfunktionen aufrechtzuerhalten, und tritt nicht nur nach partieller Hepatektomie, sondern auch als Antwort auf unterschiedlichste Formen der Leberschädigung auf. 

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Dieter Häussinger, HHU
Laufzeit: 2012 bis 2019

Zentrale Fragestellung aller Teilprojekte des SFB 590 war es, jene Vorgänge zu analysieren und zu verstehen, die zur Ausbildung der unterschiedlichen Merkmale von Zellen, wie zum Beispiel Haut-, Nerven- oder Muskelzellen, führen. Das gemeinsame Ziel aller Projekte war, einen besseren Einblick in die vielfältigen genetischen, molekularen und zellulären Grundlagen der Ausbildung Zelltypspezifischer Merkmale zu erhalten.

Diese Prozesse zur Ausbildung unterschiedlicher Zellmerkmale finden während der Entwicklung vielzelliger Organismen statt, wobei die Information über den zeitlichen und räumlichen Ablauf im genetischen Material der Zellen gespeichert ist (inhärente Prozesse). Die fertig ausgebildete (differenzierte) Zelle ist aber auch in der Lage, auf veränderte Umweltbedingungen (z. B. Licht) zu reagieren, beziehungsweise nach Verletzung oder Befall durch Parasiten so zu reagieren, dass sie überleben kann (adaptive Prozesse).

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Peter Westhoff
Institut für Entwicklungs- und Molekularbiologie der Pflanzen
Laufzeit: 2001 bis 2012

Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen sind das Resultat einer komplexen Interaktion zwischen genetischer Suszeptilität und einer Vielzahl von Umweltfaktoren. Sie sind im allgemeinen als multifaktorielle polygenetische Krankheitsbilder gekennzeichnet und stellen nach wie vor die Haupttodesursache in den westlichen Industrieländern dar.

Gemeinsames Ziel aller im SFB 612 zusammengeschlossenen Teilprojekte war es, molekulare Regelkreise zu erforschen und zu beeinflussen, die Grundlage für die normale und pathologisch veränderte Myokard- und Gefäßfunktion sind und zur Ausprägung eines spezifischen kardiovaskulären Phänotyps beitragen bzw. ihn wesentlich mitbestimmen.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. med. J. Schrader,
Institut für Herz- und Kreislaufphysiologie
Laufzeit: 2002 bis 2012

Altern ist eins der am wenigsten verstandenen Phänomene der menschlichen Biologie. Allgemein akzeptiert ist, dass Altern aus der Summe verschiedener Mechanismen entsteht, die die Lebensdauer biologischer Systeme (Zellen, Organe, Organismen) begrenzen und die nur zum Teil bekannt sind. Daher fehlen kausale Konzepte zur Beherrschung der medizinischen Probleme des hohen Alters. Durch Aufklärung von Alterungsmechanismen auf molekularer Ebene hat der SFB 728 zur Lösung dieses Problems beigetragen.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Jean Krutmann,
IUF Leibniz-Institut für umweltmedizinische Forschung
Laufzeit: 2007 bis 2012

Gemeinsames Ziel aller am SFB 575 beteiligten Teilprojekte war es, mit Hilfe grundlagenwissenschaftlicher Methoden neue Erkenntnisse über die Funktion der normalen Leber zu erarbeiten sowie die molekularen Mechanismen zu untersuchen, die im Gefolge von Leberschädigungen zu klinisch relevanten Störungen führen. Mit den gewonnenen Erkenntnissen sollte eine Grundlage zur Entwicklung neuer therapeutischer Strategien bei Leberkrankheiten geschaffen werden.

Sprecher: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dieter Häussinger,
Klinik für Gastroenterologie, Hepatologie und Infektologie
Laufzeit: 2001 bis 2011

Der Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) 663 der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft "Molekulare Antwort nach elektronischer Anregung" war ein Forschungsverbund der Heinrich-Heine-Universität (HHU) Düsseldorf, des Max-Planck-Instituts für Bioanorganische Chemie in Mülheim und des Max-Planck-Instituts für Kohlenforschung in Mülheim. Der SFB 663 nahm im Juli 2005 seine Arbeit auf. Sprecherin war Prof. Dr. Christel M. Marian (Institut für Theoretische Chemie und Computerchemie der HHU).

Im Zentrum der Forschungsaktivitäten stehen photoinduzierte Prozesse in komplexen Systemen. Vorrangiges Ziel ist es, die durch Einwirkung von Photonen auftretenden intra- und intermolekularen Wechselwirkungen auf mikroskopischer Ebene zu verstehen und dabei vor allem die elektronischen Zwischenzustände und Reaktionswege beteiligter Moleküle zu identifizieren: zum weit reichenden Nutzen von Entwicklungen in Biochemie, Materialwissenschaft und Medizin, etwa bei der Entwicklung photostabiler Farbstoffe oder beim endogenen Sonnenschutz.

Sprecherin: Prof. Dr. Christel M. Marian,
Institut für Theoretische Chemie und Computerchemie
Laufzeit: 2005 bis 2010

Verantwortlichkeit: