Jump to contentJump to search

Faculty Council

The Faculty Council is an elected body of the Faculty of Medicine. It is responsible for all matters concerning research and teaching as well as for passing resolutions on the departmental regulations and other regulations for the faculty.

The Faculty Council is not responsible for matters of the department for which the Dean is responsible, or another competence is determined.
(Sec. 28 HG NRW   [“Hochschulgesetz” or “Gesetz über die Hochschulen des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen”: German Law on the Universities in the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia] dated 16 September 2014).

The members of the Faculty of Medicine and the students elect the Faculty Council under the chairmanship of the Dean. The tenure of the professors and the representatives of the academic staff lasts two years. The tenure of the students is one year.

The regular meetings of the Faculty Council take place on a monthly basis during the semester and are divided into a public and a non-public part. The right to participate in the meetings results from the Basic Regulations of the Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf and the Higher Education Act of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Current notice:

Due to the pandemic situation, the meetings of the Faculty Council will be held as face-to-face meetings only with the elected members of the Faculty Council and the members of the Dean's Office until further notice. In this way, the formal requirements for voting are fulfilled.

However, we will offer faculty members the opportunity to participate via telephone or video conference. Access information is available through the .

Further Information

Remarks of the Faculty Council Meeting of the Faculty of Medicine

According to the Higher Education Act of North Rhine-Westphalia (HG NRW), the meeting of the Faculty Council must be distinguished between a public and a non-public meeting (§12 para. 2 sentences 1 and 3 HG NRW). The meetings of the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Medicine of the Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf are therefore held in two parts.
The circle of participants of the public or non-public meeting results from § 11 Abs. 5 of the Basic Regulations of the HHU Düsseldorf as well as § 16 Abs. 5 HG NRW and § 28 Abs. 5 HG NRW.

The following are entitled to participate:

Public meeting:

  • All members of the Faculty of Medicine
  • The entire public, i.e. also non-members of the Faculty of Medicine

Non-public session:

  • Elected members of the Faculty Council and their alternates
  • Members of the Dean's Office
  • Members of the Rectorate
  • Equal Opportunity Officer
  • Executive heads of the scientific institutions of the faculty or the heads of departments of the university hospital
  • Members of a faculty committee that has been delegated by the department council to prepare a specific decision may attend for the committee's report

In the case of consultation of appointment lists, all professors are entitled to participate.

Non-voting members:

Dean: Prof. Dr. Nikolaj Klöcker Associate
Dean: Prof. Dr. Ertan Mayatepek
Vice Dean: Prof. Dr. Guido Reifenberger
Vice Dean for Teaching and Academic Quality: Prof. Dr. Dr. Svenja Caspers
Vice Dean for Strategic Development: Prof. Dr. Heiner Fangerau
Medical Director of the UKD: Prof. Dr. Frank Schneider
Commercial Director of the UKD: Ekkehard Zimmer
Faculty Equal Opportunity Officers: Dr. Julia Seyfarth, Dr. Chantal Marazia, Dr. Nadine Lübke

Voting members:

Group of professors:
Prof. Dr. Andreas Reichert, Prof. Dr. Alfons Schnitzler, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Wesselborg, Prof. Dr. Tanja Fehm, Prof. Dr. Hubert Schelzig, Prof. Dr. Lars Christian Rump
Substitute: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Becker, Prof. Dr. Peter Angerer, Prof. Dr. Bernhard Homey

Group of scientific employees:
Dr Sandra Berger, Markus Jördens, Dr Thomas Muth
Substitutes: Verena Leve, Dr. Jan Hirschman, Sven Lindner

Group of students:
Felix Sander, Akos Tibor Biro, Katharina Repges
Substitutes: Josephine Wadenpohl, Lilly-Christin Jäger, Philip Denz

Responsible for the content: